Elisenbrunnen (c) Andreas Herrmann

Elisenbrunnen: The thermal springs

There are more than 30 thermal springs in the Aachen basin producing mineral-rich water at temperatures of up to 70 degrees centigrade. In all of Europe, only Karlovy Vary (Karlsbad) in the Czech Republic has hotter springs. Archaeological finds in the Elisengarten show that the hot springs were already well-known in the Neolithic Age and were a reason for people to settle here in the basin.

Thermal bath since the Roman times

Around the birth of Christ, Romans established a township here with several thermal baths. One of these baths was situated in the area of the Hof, a small square in Aachen's old town centre. This was also the location of Charlemagne's palatine spa, and it is from there that the Elisenbrunnen gets its thermal waters today.

A medieval convent formed the today's park

Quite early on, possibly already in Charlemagne's times, there was a small church in the Elisengarten, the Chapel of St. Adelgundis. But nothing of it remains today, nor of the medieval Ursuline convent whose garden formed the nucleus of today's park.

The Elisenbrunnen as it is today was built between 1822 and 1827 to the drafts of the architects Johann Peter Cremer and Karl Friedrich Schinkel. It consists of an open pillared hall and two lateral pavilions in neoclassical style. In the circular central section of the colonnade, two drinking fountains provide thermal water. One of the lateral pavilions houses Aachen's Tourist Information Office.

Established in 1851 – renovated in 2009

In the framework of the Route Charlemagne project, the Elisengarten, originally established in 1851, has been completely renovated. Between August 2008 and February 2009, large-scale archaeological excavations were carried out, and their findings were published on the Internet. The large tent that covered the excavation site was open to visitors as a temporary station on the Route Charlemagne. A section of the Roman and medieval foundations discovered there is visible again under glass in the Archaeological Showcase.

 

More information (in German language):

www.aachen.de/elisengarten

www.zeitreise.ac

Station Bath Culture
Elisenbrunnen

The thermal springs are where the township of Aachen originally started. They were the original reason for people settling here. In the framework of the Route Charlemagne, the Elisenbrunnen and the Archeological showcase in the Elisengarten complement the theme of "History".

Archeological showcase

Visit

Flyer (PDF)

To the next station

Elisenbrunnen (c) Andreas Herrmann

Elisenbrunnen: Kaiser, Könige und die heißen Quellen

Im Aachener Talkessel gibt es mehr als 30 Thermalquellen, deren mineralreiches Wasser bis zu 70 Grad heiß ist. In Europa gibt es lediglich im tschechischen Karlsbad (Karlovy Vary) noch heißere Quellen. Archäologische Funde aus dem Elisengarten zeigen, dass die Quellen bereits in der Jungsteinzeit bekannt waren und Menschen dazu veranlassten, im Talkessel zu siedeln.

Thermalbad seit der Römerzeit

Um Christi Geburt legten die Römer eine städtische Siedlung mit mehreren Thermen an. Eine dieser Thermen befand sich im Bereich des Hofes, eines kleinen Platzes in der Altstadt. Dort befand sich auch das Thermalbad der Pfalz Karls des Großen, und von dort wird heute der Elisenbrunnen mit Wasser aus den heißen Quellen Aachens gespeist.

Der Garten geht auf ein mittelalterliches Kloster zurück

Schon früh, möglicherweise schon zur Zeit Karls des Großen, hat sich im Elisengarten eine kleine Kirche befunden, die Adelgundiskapelle. Allerdings ist sie ebenso wenig erhalten wie das mittelalterliche Ursulinerkloster, dessen Garten die Keimzelle des heutigen Parks war.

Der heutige Elisenbrunnen wurde von 1822 bis 1827 nach Plänen der Architekten Johann Peter Cremer und Karl Friedrich Schinkel errichtet. Er besteht aus einer offenen Säulenhalle und zwei seitlichen Pavillons im klassizistischen Stil. Im zentralen Rondell fließt das heiße Wasser der Aachener Quellen offen durch zwei Brunnenbecken. In einem der Pavillons befindet sich außerdem die Aachener Tourismusinformation.

1851 angelegt 2009 neu gestaltet

Der 1851 angelegte Elisengarten wurde im Rahmen der Route Charlemagne neu gestaltet. Dabei fanden zwischen 2008 und 2009 großflächige archäologische Grabungen statt, deren Ergebnisse im Internet unter www.aachen.de/elisengarten und www.zeitreise.ac dokumentiert sind.

Station Badekultur
Elisenbrunnen

Die heißen Quellen sind der Ursprung Aachens. Sie waren der Grund, warum Menschen sich hier ansiedelten. Im Rahmen der Route Charlemagne ergänzen der Elisenbrunnen und die Archäologische Vitrine im Elisengarten die Themen „Badekultur“ und „Geschichte“.

Archäologische Vitrine

Besuch

Flyer (PDF)

Zur nächsten Station